Eduardo Garcia – Inside Cuba

As you know if you’ve been following this Blog, I recently had the opportunity to travel to Cuba.  Since returning, I have met many photographers who have had a desire to go.  All I can say is, if you can go – GO!

Anyway, one of the most memorable aspects of my journey was meeting and partnering with a local Cuban photographer, Eduardo Garcia.  Eduardo was my guide for a day as we visited the dilapidated factory town of Hershey.  Not only was he an excellent guide, but as I later found out, an amazing photographer.

Eduardo’s work has been described as “getting inside the skin of his subjects.”  This is very true.  As a native Cuban he is extremely adept at approaching people and making immediate friends.  He does not start off taking photos, but slowly, as he gets to know someone, will he begin to further explore them and their surroundings with his camera.

He has produced some of the most astounding work I have seen in some time.  I hope that by showcasing some of his work outside of Cuba, he will begin to get some of the recognition I believe he has earned.

So, without anything further from me, here is some of the work of Eduardo Garcia…

Additionally, Eduardo has put together a brief video of his work.  It is available to view HERE on YouTube.

It is my hope to get back to Cuba as soon as I can.  It is also my plan to spend additional time with Eduardo and learn more about him and his work as he shows me more of this amazing country.

11 responses to “Eduardo Garcia – Inside Cuba

  1. He really has an eye. Thanks for sharing.

  2. What a talented photographer! His pictures open eyes. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I have always had a thing for Cuba. When I was a child Cuba was this exotic place where famous writers and wealthy people would go to drink and gamble. I would love to visit there one day. I love the photos of the people.

  4. I am GOing to GO, since I have the opportunity in a few months and the desire for a long time. I was waffling though, nitpicking the terms of the visit, so thanks for the advice, very timely.
    I love the photos. Here and from your test camera post as well. Knowing that others record visually and meaningfully, as a writer I’m much more secure in my plan to go without a camera or any kind of electronics. Having seen these I am sufficiently relieved of any guilt at not looking through a viewfinder. (I think this metaphor dates me, and my last camera…) Your other post which comments on the difficulty of interactions when holding a camera is also quite helpful, and I’m happy to know I’ll avoid that altogether. I experienced that in China, and had great success with Polaroids for give-aways when I also wanted to take film prints with a 35mm. Is it really so ‘poor’ there economically that cameras are a rarity, or was it because of being a foreigner? Or of being a photographer? That is, people just wanting to be photographed? Were you that noticeable? I expect to blend in because of looks, but really how can tell an American from a Canadian? Or for that matter a Cuban? I guess what I’m asking is, was the attraction you got from being a foreigner, or was it when the camera became obvious?

  5. Pingback: Eduardo García: Impresionantes fotos de lo que va quedando de Cuba « CubaOut

  6. Fantastic photos! Makes me want to go to Cuba even more now.

  7. this is stunning…

  8. Am I wrong or were these images made on film?

  9. Hey Peter, I happen to know Eduardo and in fact bought a few of his photos he was selling on Prado; I tried to correspond with him via email but could not due to usual as I found out difficulties with access, most likely on his end. I completely share your enthusiasm regarding his work. Next time I am there I will look him up. Meanwhile, if you want to take a look at my Cuban portfolios go to http://www.pbase.com/ilya4
    Best,
    Ilya

Leave a Reply

